Upper Secondary (Year 10 – Year 11)

Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16-year olds. It is recognised by leading universities and employers worldwide and is an international passport to progression and success.

Developed over 25 years ago, it is trusted and practiced by schools worldwide. The Cambridge IGCSE curriculum offers a variety of routes for learners with a wide range of abilities, including those whose first language is not English. Encouraging learners to engage with a variety of subjects, and make connections between them, is fundamental to our approach. 

For learners, Cambridge IGCSE helps improve performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving. It is the perfect springboard to advanced study.

Cambridge IGCSE Subjects:

Science Stream:
  • First Language English
  • Malay – Foreign Language
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Additional Mathematics
  • Global Perspectives
Art Stream:
  • First Language English
  • Malay – Foreign Language
  • Mathematics
  • Combined Science
  • Business Studies
  • Economics
  • Global Perspectives

Upper Secondary (Year 10 – Year 11)

Cambridge Education School - STARS International School


Year 11 - Year 10


15 - 16

Class Size

20 Max

Examination & Assessment

Cambridge IGCSE assessment takes place at the end of the course and can include written, oral, coursework and practical assessment. This broadens opportunities for students to demonstrate their learning, particularly when their first language is not English. In many subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making Cambridge IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities.

Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • Subject Content
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations
  • Intellectual enquiry
  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change
  • Working and communicating in English
  • Influencing outcomes
  • Cultural awareness

Cambridge IGCSE curriculum, generally suitable for learners aged 14 to 16, offers a wide range of subjects to help learners improve creativity, thinking skills and problem-solving skills. The core subjects which are designed to enhance students’ skills and gain valuable knowledge, particularly build a strong foundation for tertiary education. The versatility of these subjects also creates great opportunities for students to explore and make connections between diverse programmes for advanced study.


Upon the completion of the learning process, students are required to take the Cambridge IGCSE examination which will help evaluate the skills and knowledge gained. Grades are benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades, A* to G, which have clear guidelines to explain the standard of achievement for each grade.  Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur twice a year, in June and November. Results are issued in August and January respectively.